Skip to main content
Shopping Cart
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeAbout Us

Our History

The International History, Philosophy, and Science Teaching Group was formed in 1989. The group stages biennial international conferences.  The official research journal for IHPST is Science & Education.  Thematic issues devoted to ‘History, Philosophy and Science Teaching' as well as scholarly anthologies based on journal contributions and conference presentations are periodically published.

Group Aims


The group is concerned to promote the betterment of school and university science and mathematics education by making them informed by the history, philosophy, and sociology of science and mathematics. It has a particular interest in bringing these spheres of knowledge into teacher-education programmes.

The group through its activities promotes:

  • The utilization of historical, philosophical, and sociological scholarship to clarify and deal with the many curriculum, pedagogical and theoretical issues facing contemporary science education.

  • Collaboration between the communities of scientists, mathematicians, historians, philosophers, cognitive psychologists, sociologists, and science educators, and school and college teachers.

  • The inclusion of appropriate history, philosophy, and sociology of science courses in science teacher-education programmes.

  • The dissemination of accounts of lessons, units of work, and programmes in science, at all levels, that have successfully utilized history, philosophy, and sociology.

  • Discussion of the philosophy and purposes of science education, and their place in, and contribution to, the intellectual and ethical development of individuals and cultures.


 IHPST Council Members


The following members will serve through the 2021 biennial conference.

Andreia Guerra


Fanny Seroglou
Pierre Boulos 
Ami Friedman  
Lori Maramante 
 Directors [2]
Agustín Adúriz-Bravo
Lena Hansson 
 Student Member
Anna Leci  
 Teacher Member
Cristiano Moura
 Conference Chair
Glenn Dolphin
 Past Conference Chair
Fanny Seroglou
   Nominating Committee [4]     

Ana Coulo
Arne Dittmer
Charbel N. El-Hani
Jinwoong Song



Group Aims


Group Aims

Group Aims